As a key part of our mission, JCYS is committed to guiding young professionals to develop the skills needed for a lifetime of community service and philanthropy.

Through our Board of Directors, JCYS provides guidance on non-profit governance, legislative policy, business programs, financial management and fundraising. JCYS Board Members are primarily between the ages of 26 and 40 years old and participate in a dynamic, comprehensive and intensive leadership development experience.

Executive Committee 2019
Caryn Fields speaks at Annual Meeting

Board Members experience hands-on responsibilities through:

  • Establishing the agency’s mission and strategic plan
  • Overseeing the agency’s budget and investments
  • Approving and monitoring facility improvements
  • Championing the agency’s fundraising campaigns
  • Amending by-laws

Through exposure to the full scope of the agency’s operations, Board Members are equipped to assume key leadership roles throughout JCYS and in the greater Chicago area.

Join Our Board

If you are interested in joining our Board, please contact Barbara Haworth at bhaworth@jcys.org or (312) 726-8891, ext. 101.

JCYS has over 600 treasured Alumni that helped make Jewish Council for Youth Services the organization that it is today. If you are a JCYS Board of Directors Alum, we would welcome the opportunity to reconnect with you!

Spring Event 2019

Fiscal Year 2022 Board Members

Caryn Fields – President
Irine Sorser Turin – President-Elect
Tommy DeGarmo – Immediate Past President
Rachel Seserman Patzik – Vice President of Development
Carly Schwartz – Vice President of Leadership Development
Elliot Small – Vice President of Strategy and Innovation
Morgan Weber – Treasurer
Sarah Gryll – Secretary

Ben Altshul
Josh Beren
Max Fargotstein
Robert Friend
Laura Gottlieb
Josh Hahn
Brandon Kaster
Leah Knobel
Jeremy Neil
Josh Olian
Suzanne Hershman Secler
Katie Simon

Designates to the Board

James Arogeti
Noah Jaffe
Zack Karmin
Mike Neff
Courtney Rosenfield

Past Presidents

See our distinguished list of Past Presidents.

Directors for Life

See our distinguished list of Directors for Life.