Board of Directors & Designates

As a key part of our mission, JCYS is committed to guiding young professionals to develop the skills needed for a lifetime of community service and philanthropy.  Through our Board of Directors, JCYS provides guidance on non-profit governance, legislative policy, business programs, financial management and fundraising.  JCYS Board Members are primarily between the ages of 26 and 40 years old and participate in a dynamic, comprehensive and intensive leadership development experience.

Board Members experience hands-on responsibilities through:

  • Establishing the agency’s mission and strategic plan
  • Overseeing the agency’s budget and investments
  • Approving and monitoring facility improvements
  • Championing the agency’s fundraising campaigns
  • Amending by-laws

Through exposure to the full scope of the agency’s operations, Board Members are equipped to assume key leadership roles throughout JCYS and in the greater Chicago area.


If you are, or someone you know is, interested in joining our Board, please have them fill out our application, or contact Hannah Glick at or (312) 726-8891, ext. 113.

JCYS has over 600 treasured Alumni that helped make Jewish Council for Youth Services the organization that it is today.  If you are a JCYS Board of Directors Alumni, we would welcome the opportunity to reconnect with you!

Alumni Directory
We are creating a JCYS Board Alumni Directory and need your updated information! Please fill out our form online.
Fiscal Year 2017 Board Members

Liz Roberts – President
Dan Brenner – President Elect
Adam Tarantur – Immediate Past President
Jason Keith – Vice President of Programming
Jennifer Levin – Vice President of Operations
Zachary Kafitz – Vice President of Development
Michael Capone – Treasurer
Charles Thomas DeGarmo – Assistant Treasurer
Michael Karmin – Secretary
Jennifer Gartenberg – At Large
Jason Schraub – At Large
Bryan Wool – At Large
Sarah Gryll
Jordan Feffer
Caryn Fields
Jennifer Finger
Scott Frazin
Matthew Gaines
Ivan Golden
Joel Hainsfurther
Rachel Hirsch
Scott Levine
Polina Liberman
Brian Pearl
Eric Plotkin
Jason Ross
Erica Ruder
Michael Sevin
Irine Sorser Turin
Brett Winterstein

Designates to the Board

Jenny Berger
Aaron Gillett
Danny Gold
Brad Helfand
Benjamin Lavin
Jeremy Neil
David Schultz
Carly Schwartz

Past Presidents

Directors for Life